Purpose

This is my first sojourn at blogging and my very first entry! So to get things started, it makes sense to make a statement as to what the purpose of this blog is.

To provide useful and entertaining information about the Bridger Ridge Run, America’s most rugged trail run.

How is that for a succinct mission statement?

As of January, 2011, the only pertinent date that is set is the day of the event. This year the race will take place Saturday August 13, 2011.

This year the registration process will utilize a lottery system. The Big Sky Wind Drinkers running club is still working out the details of how this will be implemented. What we know so far is that the lottery will be open to all. Expect the lottery registration to open late winter early spring and run for about a month. The website racemontana.com will host registration for the lottery. The details of how people get selected from the lottery for actual participation in the event are unknown to me at the moment. I will add more information as I learn the dates and details of this process.

If anyone has questions or comments please feel free to comment on this blog.

At this point, my goal is to add entries to this blog at least on a weekly basis. Please check back on a weekly basis to see what is new.

I already have many topics about the Ridge Run that I plan to address. Besides the logistics of registration, I plan to cover training, history and fun little stories about the event.

Over the years, I’ve been asked about how I personally train and prepare for the event. I’m not a very fast runner, but I have had a modicum of success at the Ridge Run. I’m now in my mid-fifties and have little chance of ever winning the event outright. So I will pass on all the helpful tips and secrets of training and preparation that I can think of.

The Ridge Run has some unique challenges that humble what are typically talented and fast runners. Many a time I have been asked by someone that is a much faster runner then me of how I can do the Ridge Run an hour or more faster than them? Stay tuned, I will explain this as best as I can.

About Bridger Ridge Run

The Bridger Ridge Run blog is an information portal for all those seeking to learn more about the Bridger Ridge Run event held every second Saturday of August in Bozeman Montana. This blog contains notifications about important registration dates and deadlines, history of the event, training advice and other stories and entertaining tidbits of information about the Bridger Ridge Run.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Purpose

  1. Celia says:

    As for the registration process, we will have it all lined out at the winddrinker.org Ridge Run site sometime in the next few months. It will probably officially open up sometime in May and there will be a leisurely amount of time to sign up for the registration lottery. The speed of your Internet connection will not be an issue. No whining allowed. You will get to write a short paragraph about “why I should be entered into the Ridge Run”. More details to follow soon.

    Anyway, enjoy the blog, have fun with it, and check in often! Good luck.

Leave a Reply

